Why I Cook

When it comes to hobbies, cooking is one of my favorites. Nearly every day, I cook, but I do it for more than just providing a meal for myself and my family. I enjoy everything about cooking. From the prep work to the act itself. I love learning about new ingredients or new techniques and improving my abilities in the kitchen. I especially love the feeling of a job well done and the praise of anyone happy to eat what I have made.

DSCF0004.JPG

I wasn’t always interested in food. As a kid, I was a picky eater. I was the type who would order five plain hamburgers without anything on them rather than eat one loaded burger. If I were feeling adventurous, then I might add ketchup. Definitely no cheese, pickles, or lettuce though.

These days, I am the complete opposite. I will eat almost anything, at least once. I have even grown to really enjoy vegetables and other side dishes. I rarely limit myself to meat and potatoes.

DSCF0007.JPG

My dad cooked too but most of our family meals were prepared by my mom. She had myself and my brother to feed, and we were both picky in distinct ways. That meant dinner was always a challenge, but she somehow managed to find a balance. Some nights were geared toward one of us more than the other and it worked.

Everything changed when my brother died.

For our entire lives, mom had perfected her menu. When he died, her appetite went out the window and, worse, everything she could cook only reminded herself of him.

And, instead of forcing her to make the same meals attached to the same memories every night, I decided that we would do something different, together. It started originally with a bread machine. It had gone unused for years, but when I realized it could be used to make pizza dough, an idea was born: weekly pizza night. Only, instead of getting our pizza from the gas station (seriously, I am from a small town), we would make something fresh and unusual ourselves!

DSCF0021.JPG

We made some weird ones too. I don’t think we once made anything traditional. Instead, we did things like a Shrimp Creole Pizza (spicy tomato sauce with Cajun spices, covered in shrimp and mozzarella). My dad’s personal favorite – and he still raves about it to this day – was our Irish pizza. It featured a white sauce, crumbled sausage, thin slices of potato, cabbage, and a mix of cheddar and mozzarella.

I had little experience in the kitchen, but my tastes were rapidly changing. I would plot an idea for what to make and mom would help me make it a reality. Not only did it become a regularly weekly thing to do, but it also gave us something to talk about and focus on for the rest of the week. It generated excitement in the kitchen again. More than a cure for empty stomachs, cooking together was a fix for our broken hearts.

From that summer on, food became more important to me. I wanted to understand how to prepare more meals and I wanted to widen my palette. Cooking went from a hobby I had zero interest in to one of my most cherished activities. Better yet, it gave me an endless supply of things to talk about with my mom and my dad. To this day, now that I have gained substantially more experience, dad will ask me for advice on what to cook or how to cook what he has.

DSCF0032.JPG

What to eat is a question we ask ourselves every day. Why not answer it together? Even if you cannot get a hand in cooking the food, you will almost always get a hand in eating it. Food is important. It reminds us who we are and where we are from, and it shares a story with new people who enter our lives.

I am learning so much sharing my culinary passion with Diane’s mom, especially since she is Korean and has an entirely different background from my own. I love getting to eat her food, especially the things she thinks I won’t like because I am ‘just some white kid from Alabama’. At the same time, I like surprising her with my own talents and impressing her with all the lessons I have learned in the kitchen over the years.

But the one thing I especially love about sharing a passion for food with the people I care about? Being able to combine our favorite things into new dishes! Chicken & Rice is a Southern staple, but add a little seaweed to it like they use in Korean cuisine? Even better! Sriracha or similar Asian hot sauce go great on the fried foods that my mother perfected such as her fried chicken fingers or tater logs.

Not only does food bring us together in our homes and our hearts, it can bring our histories together too. With the right combination, you can tell a new story. With a new story, eating never gets old.

I am sure many of you have similar stories or similar experiences.


All of the above pictures were taken by me many years ago around my parent’s home. I apologize about the quality. Cameras weren’t what they are now back then.

13 thoughts on “Why I Cook”

  1. Great post – really enjoyed reading it. I do most of the coming at my house too now and find its something easy to learn but hard to master. There is such a great satisfaction when something new turns out well.

    Nice to understand your cooking origin story especially :)

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes, and its straight out of a vegetarian cookbook (Thug Kitchen) because we were looking for awesome ideas to spruce up our veggies (often we keep it pure and just steam with lemon, etc.).

        Not in front of me (been away for the week) but the basics are:

        2 heads of cauliflower, cut into thumb size pieces, bake spread out on a sheet for 15 minutes

        Remove from oven, toss in a spicy sauce mixture (siracha, rice wine vinegar, soy.. missing a couple. Any spicy sauce combo would work here)

        Put back in oven 3-5 minutes. It’s quickly become one of our favourites, and easy to make.

        The recipe calls for light breading of the cauliflower but we skip that part. Try to keep things on the healthier side.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I really enjoyed your post today — resonated with me on many levels and I’m going to share your message today. It’s so funny. When my parents came to visit last we were struggling to find things to talk about like we always do and I finally said, “what CAN we talk about?!” turns out we had no trouble talking about meat and just food in general! Everybody has to eat and may not agree on what to eat but it is definitely common ground in a world of so much conflict.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Great post man. Very insightful. I enjoy cooking for people as well, but I’d definitely be considered a noob in the kitchen. Even though I don’t know too many recipes or don’t have substantial knowledge of food, just the act of cooking for others is pretty satisfying.

    Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I really love this post about how you came to love cooking. I’ll admit, I can’t cook worth a damn but my mom is an excellent cook. I’m sure if I actually tried to learn how to cook, I may uncover a talent I didn’t know I had. I think the right motivation is important to try something you wouldn’t think you’d be interested in trying. I’m hoping I can finally get off my lazy butt and learn how to cook. I know my mom won’t be around forever to cook her delicious Filipino food and everything else!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. That was from the SOUL! Thank you sharing this to everyone. I know how loss affects us as children, but understanding how to cope with it as a parent something, I hope to NEVER see. What you did for your parents was such an honorable thing to do.
    Cooking is an amazing act and I still cannot wrap it around my head, as to why so many families don’t do this is a shame. In the last six months, I’ve taken over cooking in my household because my wife works until 6PM sometimes and tries to get to the gym after work. So, being a parent and good husband, I make sure that meals on the table by NLT 7pm. It’s hard, considering I work later shifts, but ever since I took over with cooking, IT IS A LOVE OF A DIFFERENT KIND!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. When playing with my different EU server guilds over the years, food was always one of the hottest topics and it always brought people together in funny ways. We’d talk about food for hours on teamspeak and tease one another, depending on where people were from – the UK, Sweden, Germany, France, Romania, Greece, Holland…..some great chats I’ve had with these peeps over food culture. :) It’s funny how conversation always went there but then, food is a very passionate subject for a lot of people.

    Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts:

