Repost: Auctioning Off My Gaming Childhood

In further celebration of Pokemon Week, I wanted to repost one of the most popular articles I have ever written. Other than being a Freshly Pressed article that, in a lot of ways, validated my interest in blogging and writing, it also is heavily about a particular Pokemon card that I loved dearly as a kid! Enjoy.

Since college, I’ve gotten used to being poor and broke most of the time, but when I was a lot younger I was very spoiled.  I had one chore every day of every week – feeding our chickens and collecting eggs – and my father paid me the tidy sum of twenty dollars a week to do it. Needless to say, most of my money went directly into videogames and videogame-related hobbies. Recently though, I’ve taken to ebaying off various things from my past to afford various things of my future, which has had me reconsidering my younger days with sadness, nostalgia, and reserved glee.

I had the foresight as a kid to buy almost any JRPG I could get my hands on.  Even if they were bad, I had enough cash burning a hole in my pocket that I’d take a leap without necessarily doing the research to see if it is any good.  I ended up with a lot of duds on my Playstation and Dreamcast that I barely played, but I loved owning so many.  But considering I sold off my Playstation long ago to buy a Playstation 2 and my Playstation 2 has long since been dead ever since it plummeted to its demise on a hardwood floor in the middle of a heated game of NFL Blitz, the games I still had left for Sony systems have long been inaccessible to me. It was a pleasant surprise when my near mint copy of Vagrant Story sold for more than I would’ve expected.

Unlike my history with Playstations, my Dreamcast remains an immaculate and very beloved system in my repertoire that has moved with me into every new chapter of my life. Well immaculate save for the fact that I was a stupid kid who thought a console decal would be a great idea.  I had to scratch and claw to get it off, so my Dreamcast looks like a survivor of an actual cat fight: but it runs beautifully.  I actually began a project a couple of years ago of reacquiring the right games and accessories to make the console a staple device for parties as well.  I bought VMUs, extra controllers, controller extension cords, and looked into buying all the classics.

Of course, buying the classics for a system with such rare games proved to be a far too expensive undertaking, so I settled for piracy (sorry Dreamcast developers, I loved you when it counted).  With piracy, came the nerve to just sell off the games I did still have that were worth anything.  Exit Skies of Arcadia, my favorite Dreamcast game of all time (with the exception of Sonic Adventure, Marvel vs Capcom 2, Toy Commander, and Power Stone 2 in select contexts). And whether I play them or not, it helps me sleep at night that my Dreamcast is never THAT far away.

However, today marks the true final step in ridding myself of my childhood’s most prized possessions.  After much debate, I’ve decided to ebay my Pokemon cards.

I remember the addiction I felt toward these stupid things.  All of my money and my attention went toward acquiring more and more of them.  I even managed to anger my father because on one particular family vacation to Florida, I wanted to spend all our time looking for card shops that sold Japanese Pokemon cards.  You see, I come from Alabama where nothing cool exists (unless you love peanuts), especially not something as cool as this:

Yes, this is a Japanese Fossil Dragonite. Being a predictable child beast, I loved dragonite as a kid and I probably would’ve killed for this card if its original owner were someone other than my best friend at the time.  I had the sheer luck of pulling more than one Charizard from the Basic set, so the Fates hadn’t abandoned me entirely.  But when I saw this card, when I held it in my hand, I traded a hell of a lot to own it including my precious Charizards among many others.  I still have no clue what the card says, but I’ll be damned if I am not proud to own it.

Alas, it is in the lot too, along with so many other cards that I once loved and adored and prided myself on owning. I already sold the one Charizard I did manage to keep a few months ago, so it shouldn’t of taken this long to move the rest of the rares I had left. After all, I haven’t played the TCG since middle school and the last Pokemon game I owned was Pokemon Silver. These things don’t hold the sway that they once did.

Except they do, at least to some extent, and I am saddened to see them go.

